Goofin' Records


Sonic Youth "Confusion Is Sex"


Originally slated to be a 7" single to follow-up their self-titled debut, Sonic Youth's "Confusion Is Sex" blossomed into the band's first album: a brain-bludgeoning, completely fried endeavor of dissonance and disarray, a perfect soundtrack for running from a chain-wielding gang near the SIN Club. The raw, Wharton Tiers, eight-track production is dark, the Kim Gordon-scrawled cover-figure art of Thurston Moore is dark, Lee Ranaldo's back-cover photo collage and Catherine Ceresole's crumpled, xeroxed images that adorn the inside are dark. It's an album that moves Sonic Youth forward from their first EP almost by devolving backwards into true ugly, lo-fi primitivity. Now available again on vinyl.

Track Listing:

1. (She's In A) Bad Mood
2. Protect Me You
3. Freezer Burn/I Wanna Be Your Dog
4. Shaking Hell
5. Inhuman
6. The World Looks Red
7. Confusion Is Next
8. Making The Nature Scene
9. Lee Is Free