Fat Wreck Chords


NOFX "First Ditch Effort"

What's really left to say about NOFX? For over thirty years, the reigning kings of punk rock have remained relevant by continuing to push the boundaries of their music and lyrics in a way that's as endearing as it is infectious. For that reason, it's remarkably apt that the band's latest LP, "First Ditch Effort," is also their thirteenth, because ominous black clouds hang over this collection of songs that see frontman/bassist Fat Mike exploring self-loathing and mortality in a more raw and honest way than he ever has before. Mike credits much of this to the writing process behind NOFX: The Hepatitis Bathtub And Other Stories, the band's New York Times Bestselling memoir that forced him to confront his ghosts and revisit his past in ways that weren't always comfortable. Additionally, having focused so much energy on writing songs for a Broadway musical over the past few years, Fat Mike's songwriting on "First Ditch Effort" benefits from a similarly nuanced and varied approach, while simultaneously spitting out all the pent-up angst and aggression that was necessarily reserved for NOFX songs. Guided by the collaborative influence of producer Cameron Webb. Vinyl version includes digital download.

Track Listing:

1. Six Years On Dope
2. Happy Father's Day
3. Sid And Nancy
4. California Drought
5. Oxy Moronic
6. I Don't Like Me Anymore
7. I'm A Transvest-Lite
8. Ditch Effort
9. Dead Beat Mom
10. Bye Bye Biopsy Girl
11. It Ain't Lonely At The Bottom
12. I'm So Sorry Tony
13. Generation Z