Neurot Recordings


Neurosis "Pain Of Mind"

"Pain Of Mind" marks the inception of one of the weirdest and most powerful bands there ever was as they began their odyssey through the sonic landscape: 33 years, 13 albums and counting. These gritty punk songs bear little resemblance to what Neurosis would become, but the future was written here, and if you listen closely to these kids - barely out of high school at the time, you can hear their early influences: the guitars and existential anguish of Amebix and Rudimentary Peni, the passionate politics of Crass, the heaviness of Sabbath - and here, too, they lay the foundation for some of their enduring concerns: the pursuit of transcendence, and contemplation on the downward suck of despair. With "Pain Of Mind," Neurosis sunk their claws into the hearts and minds of the East Bay scene like no one else. Now available again on vinyl.

Track Listing:

1. Pain Of Mind
2. Self-Taught Infection
3. Reasons To Hide
4. Black
5. Training
6. Progress
7. Stalemate
8. Bury What's Dead
9. Geneticide
10. Ingrown
11. United Sheep
12. Dominoes Fall
13. Life On Your Knees
14. Grey