Prank Records


Life's Blood "Hardcore A.D. 1988"

Life's Blood was a legendary, short-lived band from New York City. Formed in 1987, Life's Blood played 20 shows and recorded two radio shows, a demo at Don Fury and one 7", "Defiance," released on Combined Effort Records, and appeared on the seminal "New Breed" tape comp in 1988. In these short 14 months as band, they left an indelible mark on the history of hardcore punk, as their sharp, earnest and challenging lyrics backed with remarkably sturdy, dissonant and distorted hardcore songs emerged at a time where the focus of underground hardcore had been blurred by commercialism, crossover and violence. "Hardcore A.D. 1988" collects 27 songs from their "Defiance" EP, demo tape, compilation tracks, their posthumous split EP with Sticks And Stones, WFMU and WNYU recordings, and live tracks, with new liner notes from guitarist Adam Nathanson and extensive band notes compiled by bassist Neil Burke with photos and flyers. Mastered at George Horn mastering, with packaging designed by Jack Barfield at Neolithic Print Cartel. Vinyl version includes digital download.

Track Listing:

1. Never Make A Change
2. Left Me Behind
3. Stick To It
4. Guilty As Charged
5. Youth Enrage
6. Not For The Weak
7. Catch Our Breath
8. It's Not In Your Heart
9. Human Power
10. Reckoning Force
11. Counting On
12. Plain Truth (demo)
13. It's Not In Your Heart (live)
14. Resist Control (live)
15. Maximum Security (live)
16. Left Out On The Ice To Die (live)
17. Guilty As Charged (demo)
18. Stick To It (demo)
19. Left Me Behind (live)
20. Never Make A Change (live)
21. Not For The Weak (live)
22. Maximum Security (live)
23. Youth Enrage (live)
24. Human Power (live)
25. You're X'ed (live)
26. Outro