SBAM Records


Desperate Acts "State Secrets"



When you hear the words "punk band from the Midwest," you expect one thing. But Desperate Acts zig when you expect a zag. At their core, they’re a Minneapolis punk band and that’s inarguable, but it’s never predictable. Put Leatherface, Jawbreaker, Avail, and Hot Water Music into a blender, and you’re close – you’re missing ingredients, but you’re close. While seemingly coming out of nowhere, Desperate Acts’ previous bands seem incongruent with their sound at first, so it’s not easy to tag them as “Ex-members of_______” and have that thin introductory catch phrase be relevant in any way (this band doesn’t sound like Comeback Kid, Holding On, or Martyr AD). State Secrets was produced by Jay Maas at Getaway Recording (Citizen, Title Fight, Bane & Defeater) and engineered by Brian Herb (Jerry Cantrell, Alice in Chains, Bush, Helmet).

Track Listing:

1. Drying Out
2. Jeff Crisp
3. Brian
4. Humble Lights
5. I Am Trying To Impress You
6. East Hill
7. Paid In Full
8. State Secrets
9. FM
10. Veil