Fat Wreck Chords


Darius Koski "What Was Once Is By And Gone"

On "What Was Once Is By And Gone," it's still easy to see Swingin' Utters frontman Darius Koski's masterful hand guiding each of the songs, but you can see the mark of artists such as The Kinks, Leonard Cohen and even the dark, unsettling works of Nick Cave present this time around. Songs like "Old Bones" and "Stay With Me" are unlike anything he's done before, as Koski tells evocative stories that ache forward like a tumbleweed in the wind. And when he is returning to the Americana roots of "Sisu," as he does on album opener "Black Sheep," you can see shades of Johnny Cash's acclaimed American Recordings series. Though not a concept record, Koski's work on "What Was Once Is By And Gone" feels cinematic, with layers of instruments building a distinct world, using instrumental pieces to shift the album's tone and tenor like a director uses a film score. Now available on vinyl. Vinyl version includes digital download.

Track Listing:

1. Black Sheep
2. Old Bones
3. Stay With Me
4. A Little Buzz
5. Because He's Beautiful
6. Stupid Sentimental
7. Yes I Believe
8. Soap Opera
9. The Observer
10. A Fresh Glass Of Nothing
11. A Version
12. Dead Ended Days
13. Imitation Tala
14. Little Johnny
15. Tangled Chords
16. Another Man